What a prison pen pal profile really costs
We read the price pages of 13 prison pen pal sites on October 7, 2026. Listings run from free (with writers paying to see addresses) to $200 a year. Few include 500 words and 3 photos without add-ons: on WriteAPrisoner the same profile costs $125. Prison Pen Pal Hub is $50 for the year with 500 words, 3 photos, a free address change and one free rewrite. Some sites are cheaper, and we say so below.
Updated by Jason Santiago
Prison Pen Pal Hub: $50
500 words, 3 photos, address change free, one rewrite free; renewal $40.
WriteAPrisoner.com
500 words and 3 photos: $125 with add-ons
- Standard $80: 250 words, 1 photo
Extra photo $10. Text change $10. Renewal $60. Extra words $5 per 50.
Inmate.com
500 words and 3 photos: not offered in one plan
- Standard $100: 300 words, 2 photos
- Premium $200: 300 words, 2 photos (adds email responses and front-page placement)
Extra photo $5. Renewal $80. Mailed check or money order only. Extra text $10 per 300 words; Premium renews at $160.
The Inmate Connection
500 words and 3 photos: $90 (Spotlight)
- Standard $40: 250 words, 3 photos
- Enhanced $60: 350 words, 5 photos
- Spotlight $90: 500 words, 8 photos
Extra photo $3. Text change $10.
Meet-An-Inmate
500 words and 3 photos: not offered in one plan
- Standard $40: 250 words, 2 photos
- Featured $70: 250 words, 2 photos (paid placement)
Extra photo $5. Text change $10. Address changes free.
PrisonPenPals.com
500 words and 3 photos: $79.95 (Platinum)
- Economy $9.95: 0 words, 1 photo (no words)
- Basic $19.95: 200 words, 1 photo
- Gold Star $39.95: 300 words, 2 photos
- Platinum $79.95: 500 words, 5 photos
- Gallery $99.95: 500 words, 20 photos
Extra photo $5. Extra words $5 per 50.
Prison-PenPals.net
500 words and 3 photos: $49.95 (Standard)
- Standard $49.95: words not stated, 3 photos
- Featured $79.95: words not stated, 5 photos (paid placement)
Also sold monthly ($6.95).
Inmate-Connection.com
500 words and 3 photos: $75 (Larger ad (PDF form))
- U.S. ad $40: 200 words, 1 photo (its PDF form says $50)
- Larger ad (PDF form) $75: words not stated, 6 photos (over 200 words or extra pictures)
Text change $15. Photo change $10; address changes free.
PrisonInmatePenpal.com
500 words and 3 photos: $25 (48-month listing)
- 48-month listing $25: 800 words, 3 photos ($25 covers 48 months)
Changes free. A ministry; free picture, profile and address changes.
Wire of Hope
500 words and 3 photos: not offered in one plan
- 1 year $45: 350 words, 2 photos (with a 30-second voice message)
- 2 years $65: 350 words, 2 photos (two years)
Extra photo $5. Text change $10. Renewal $35. Prices are in its July 2026 brochure. $12 Profile Boost moves a profile back to the top. Address changes free.
LttR
500 words and 3 photos: $30 (Standard)
- Standard $30: words not stated, 5 photos (auto-renewing subscription)
- Featured $45: words not stated, 5 photos (founding price, then $50; top of search)
Changes free. Renewal $30. Edits free and re-reviewed. Renews automatically until cancelled.
PenPals.Buzz
500 words and 3 photos: not offered in one plan
- Silver $45: 250 words, 2 photos
- Gold $70: 400 words, 4 photos (featured 30 days)
- VIP $195: 400 words, 4 photos (featured 180 days)
Extra photo $8. Text change $12. Renewal $40. Extra words $10 per 100. Featured $25 for 30 days; Bump to the Top $12. Address changes free.
PrisonFriendship
500 words and 3 photos: not offered in one plan
- Basic $30: 200 words, 2 photos
- VIP $40: 200 words, 3 photos (homepage placement)
- VIP Gold $60: 200 words, 5 photos (two years)
Extra photo $5. Text change $10. Online prices; $10 more by mail. Extra text $5 per 50 words. Its two pages disagree on VIP renewal ($35 or $30). Address changes free.
InmateConnection.org
500 words and 3 photos: not offered in one plan
- Free listing $0: 0 words, 1 photo (no bio)
- Full profile $9.99: words not stated, 3 photos (one-time; length of listing not stated)
Featured $9.99 a month. Writers pay $1.99 per profile (or $39.99 a month for 40) to see the name and mailing address.
| Site | One-year plans | 500 words and 3 photos | Changes and renewal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prison Pen Pal Hub | $50: 500 words, 3 photos | $50 | Address change free, one rewrite free; renewal $40 |
| WriteAPrisoner.com | Standard $80: 250 words, 1 photo. Extra photo $10. Extra words $5 per 50. | $125 (with add-ons) | Text change $10; renewal $60 |
| Inmate.com | Standard $100: 300 words, 2 photos; Premium $200: 300 words, 2 photos (adds email responses and front-page placement). Extra photo $5. Mailed check or money order only. Extra text $10 per 300 words; Premium renews at $160. | Not offered in one plan | Change price not stated; renewal $80 |
| The Inmate Connection | Standard $40: 250 words, 3 photos; Enhanced $60: 350 words, 5 photos; Spotlight $90: 500 words, 8 photos. Extra photo $3 | $90 (Spotlight) | Text change $10 |
| Meet-An-Inmate | Standard $40: 250 words, 2 photos; Featured $70: 250 words, 2 photos (paid placement). Extra photo $5. Address changes free. | Not offered in one plan | Text change $10 |
| PrisonPenPals.com | Economy $9.95: 0 words, 1 photo (no words); Basic $19.95: 200 words, 1 photo; Gold Star $39.95: 300 words, 2 photos; Platinum $79.95: 500 words, 5 photos; Gallery $99.95: 500 words, 20 photos. Extra photo $5. Extra words $5 per 50. | $79.95 (Platinum) | Change price not stated |
| Prison-PenPals.net | Standard $49.95: words not stated, 3 photos; Featured $79.95: words not stated, 5 photos (paid placement). Also sold monthly ($6.95). | $49.95 (Standard) | Change price not stated |
| Inmate-Connection.com | U.S. ad $40: 200 words, 1 photo (its PDF form says $50); Larger ad (PDF form) $75: words not stated, 6 photos (over 200 words or extra pictures). Photo change $10; address changes free. | $75 (Larger ad (PDF form)) | Text change $15 |
| PrisonInmatePenpal.com | 48-month listing $25: 800 words, 3 photos ($25 covers 48 months). A ministry; free picture, profile and address changes. | $25 (48-month listing) | Changes free |
| Wire of Hope | 1 year $45: 350 words, 2 photos (with a 30-second voice message); 2 years $65: 350 words, 2 photos (two years). Extra photo $5. Prices are in its July 2026 brochure. $12 Profile Boost moves a profile back to the top. Address changes free. | Not offered in one plan | Text change $10; renewal $35 |
| LttR | Standard $30: words not stated, 5 photos (auto-renewing subscription); Featured $45: words not stated, 5 photos (founding price, then $50; top of search). Edits free and re-reviewed. Renews automatically until cancelled. | $30 (Standard) | Changes free; renewal $30 |
| PenPals.Buzz | Silver $45: 250 words, 2 photos; Gold $70: 400 words, 4 photos (featured 30 days); VIP $195: 400 words, 4 photos (featured 180 days). Extra photo $8. Extra words $10 per 100. Featured $25 for 30 days; Bump to the Top $12. Address changes free. | Not offered in one plan | Text change $12; renewal $40 |
| PrisonFriendship | Basic $30: 200 words, 2 photos; VIP $40: 200 words, 3 photos (homepage placement); VIP Gold $60: 200 words, 5 photos (two years). Extra photo $5. Online prices; $10 more by mail. Extra text $5 per 50 words. Its two pages disagree on VIP renewal ($35 or $30). Address changes free. | Not offered in one plan | Text change $10 |
| InmateConnection.org | Free listing $0: 0 words, 1 photo (no bio); Full profile $9.99: words not stated, 3 photos (one-time; length of listing not stated). Featured $9.99 a month. Writers pay $1.99 per profile (or $39.99 a month for 40) to see the name and mailing address. | Not offered in one plan | Change price not stated |
Each price was read on the site's own page on the date shown (October 7, 2026); WriteAPrisoner's was read by our founder that day. Prices change; follow the links for today's numbers. InmatesConnect.com no longer operates (its domain is for sale).
Who pays, who manages, who can buy a better spot
| Site | Writers pay to see the address? | Sells better placement? | Family manages the profile? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prison Pen Pal Hub | No | No | Yes |
| WriteAPrisoner.com | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages |
| Inmate.com | Not stated on its pages | Yes | Not stated on its pages |
| The Inmate Connection | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages |
| Meet-An-Inmate | Not stated on its pages | Yes | Not stated on its pages |
| PrisonPenPals.com | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages |
| Prison-PenPals.net | Not stated on its pages | Yes | Not stated on its pages |
| Inmate-Connection.com | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages |
| PrisonInmatePenpal.com | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages |
| Wire of Hope | No | Yes | Yes |
| LttR | No | Yes | Yes |
| PenPals.Buzz | No | Yes | Yes |
| PrisonFriendship | No | Yes | Yes |
| InmateConnection.org | Yes | Yes | Yes |
“Not stated” means we didn't find it on the site's own pages, not that the answer is no. Black & Pink, a nonprofit, runs a free penpal program for incarcerated LGBTQIA2S+ people and people living with HIV/AIDS; it matches penpals rather than selling listings, so it isn't in the price table. Black & Pink's program.
How to read this
The cheapest sites are real options, especially the ministry listing at $25 for four years. What we offer is one price with no add-ons and no paid placement: 500 words, 3 photos, a free address change when your loved one is moved, and one free rewrite during the year.
What is the cheapest prison pen pal site?
For families, InmateConnection.org lists someone free (one photo, no bio) and charges writers $1.99 per profile to see the address instead. PrisonInmatePenpal.com, a ministry, charges $25 for 48 months. LttR and PrisonFriendship start at $30 a year. Prison Pen Pal Hub is not the cheapest: it is one flat price with 500 words and 3 photos included, free for writers, and nothing extra to buy.
How much does WriteAPrisoner cost?
WriteAPrisoner's new-listing page showed $80 for one year with 250 words and one photo, $5 per extra 50 words, $10 per extra photo, $10 per text change and $60 a year to renew (read October 7, 2026). The same 500 words and 3 photos would cost $125 there.
Do any of these sites sell better placement?
Most do. 8 of the 13 sites we checked sell featured spots, boosts or homepage placement on their own pages. Prison Pen Pal Hub has no paid placement; every profile takes turns in the spotlight in a random order.
Do writers have to pay to see addresses?
On InmateConnection.org, yes: $1.99 per profile. On the other sites we checked, and on Prison Pen Pal Hub, browsing and the mailing address are free for writers.